Gills Creek Watershed Association Board of Directors 2010

Board of Directors

Emily Freeman Jones - President of the Gills Creek Watershed Association, and Fundraising and Membership Chair
Ms. Jones is a project manager with Grimball Cotterill & Associates, a landscape architecture firm in Columbia. She lives near Gills Creek below Lake Katharine.
Region of Watershed: Lower Gills Greek
Term Expires: 10/17/13

David Tuttle - Vice President of the Gills Creek Watershed Association
Mr. Tuttle is President of Lake Carolina Development Inc. He has been a custom homebuilder in the Columbia area and has over 20 years experience in construction, sales and development. He is a graduate of the University of South Carolina School of Business.
Term Expires: 10/17/13

Carol Kososki - Secretary of the Gills Creek Watershed Association and Chairperson of the Finance Committee
Ms. Kososki is the current Chair of the Richland County Conservation Commission, is a founding member and officer of Friends of Cangaree Swamp, served as interim Vice Chair of Gills Creek Watershed Association and lives on Forest Lake in the Gills Creek watershed.
Region of watershed: Forest Lake
Term Expires: 9/13/11

Daniel L. Tufford, Ph.D. - Treasurer of the Gills Creek Watershed Association
Dr. Tufford is on the research faculty in Biological Sciences at the University of South Carolina and is a 29+ year resident of the Gills Creek watershed.
Region of watershed: Forest Acres
Term Expires: 9/13/12

Pamela Greenlaw - Chairperson of the Education Commitee
Ms. Greenlaw is a long-time grassroots environmental activist. She is a current member of the John Bachman Group of the Sierra Club, Environmentalists, Inc., and the Gills Creek Watershed Association.
Region of watershed: Jackson and Little Jackson Creek
Term Expires: 9/13/11

Elliott Powell - Past Chairperson of the Gills Creek Watershed Association
Mr Powell is president of First Sun HR & Benefit Solutions, and was born and raised in the Gills Creek watershed. He currently resides back on Lake Katharine where he has served two terms as president of the Lake Katharine Homeowners Association. He was a founding member of the Gills Creek Watershed Association first established in the early 1990s, and served as the secretary of the original effort. Since the reorganization of GCWA two years ago, Mr. Powell has served as the interim chairman.
Region of watershed: Lake Katharine
Term Expires: 10/17/13

Michael Criss
Mr. Criss is a consulting planner in the midlands who advocates watershed-based land use planning and ecosystem conservation.
Term Expires: 9/13/12

Bernie Gaudi is a retired resident of Arcadia Lakes and is active in the Arcadia Lakes Navy, the GCWA, and numerous other organizations including the South Carolina Silver Haired Legislature.
Region of watershed: Arcadia Lakes
Term Expires: 9/13/11

Judy Timmons is a founding member of the Environmental Stewardship Committee at Forest Lake Presbyterian Church and lives in the Rockbridge Road area of the watershed. She is a member of the Gills Creek Watershed Association's Outreach and Education Committee.
Region of watershed: Forest Lake
Term Expires: 9/13/12

Pete Mayers - Chairman of the Technical Committee
Pete Mayers has a background in waste water treatment, mechanical maintenance, mechanical engineering, is active in the Rosewood Community Council, a member of the Richland County Airport Commission, and a member of the Gills Creek Watershed Association.
Region of watershed: Rosewood
Term Expires: 10/17/13

Yancey McLeod is an attorney who grew up in Columbia in the Gills Creek watershed, has been active in efforts to protect and restore the watershed, makes his living as a natural resource and conservation contsultant, and lives at Cook's Mountain on the Wateree River. Mr. McLeod is a former President of the South Carolina Association of Conservation Districts, and works with landowners, developers, engineers and homeowners associations as a natural resource and land use planning consultant through Yancey Environmental Solutions, LLC.
Term Expires : 9/13/11

Leroy Bolton is a resident of the Arthurtown community and has been involved with multiple organizations and has community organizing experience within Arthurtown.
Region of watershed: Aurthurtown
Term Expires: 9/13/12

Advisory Board Members

Amy Maxwell - United States Department of Agriculture
James Atkins - Manager of the Environmental Planning Division, Richland County
Srinivas Valavala - Richland County Stormwater Engineer
Anne McGovern - South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control - Watershed Manager

Six Ex-officio Members appointed by Jurisdictions

(One Each - Elected Official or their appointee)

Richland County - Jim Manning
City of Columbia - Belinda Gergel - Columbia City Council
Forest Acres - Shaun Greenwood - Forest Acres Environmental Division
Fort Jackson - TBD
Arcadia Lakes - TBD
City of Cayce - TBD

Board of Directors 2009

Home | Facts & Vision | Plans & Info | Projects | Get Involved | Sponsors | Partners | News | Calendar | Take Action! | Contact Us
Additional Links | Photo Gallery | Site Map/Search
Gills Creek Watershed Association Facebook Like Us On Facebook | Gills Creek Watershed Association YouTube View Our Videos On YouTube | Gills Creek Watershed Association Twitter Follow Us On Twitter | Gills Creek Watershed Association Instagram Follow Us On Instagram
The Gills Creek Watershed Association, Byrnes Building 430C (office), 712 Main St, EWS 603 (mail), Columbia, SC 29208, 803-727-8326
Copyright 2011-2018 Gills Creek Watershed Association, a 501(c)(3) Non-Profit Organization
Comments or questions about this site? Contact
DMZ Graphics